varying number of members appointed by the Governor in Council for three-year terms. The Deputy Minister of National Defence, the President of the National Research Council and three senior officers of the Canadian Armed Forces are ex-officio members. The Board has its headquarters in Ottawa, research establishments in Nova Scotia, Quebec, Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia and liaison offices in Washington, London and Paris.

Department of Agriculture. This Department was established in 1867 (SC 1868, c.53) and now operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.A-10. It undertakes work on all phases of agriculture. Research and experimentation are carried out by the Research, Health of Animals and Economics branches, and the Grain Research Laboratory; and the maintenance of standards and protection of products, by the Production and Marketing and Health of Animals branches. A new Food Systems Branch was created in 1972. The Canada Grain Act, as it pertains to the inspection, weighing, storage and transportation of grain, is administered by the Canadian Grain Commission; and programs concerning farm income security and price stability are provided under the Crop Insurance Act, the Prairie Farm Assistance Act, the Canadian Dairy Commission Act and the Agricultural Stabilization Act and the Agricultural Products Board. The Farm Credit Corporation, the Canadian Dairy Commission, the Canadian Livestock Feed Board and the National Farm Products Marketing Council report to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

The Agricultural Stabilization Board, a departmental corporation under the Financial Administration Act, the Agricultural Products Board and the Canadian Grain Commission are parts of the Department.

Department of Communications. The Department was established under Part II of the 1969 Government Organization Act and operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.C-24. The Minister of Communications is responsible for fostering the orderly development and growth of communications for Canada. In the domestic field, this includes the extension of existing telecommunications systems and services to obtain optimum benefits in the short and long terms; the development and introduction of new communications systems, facilities and resources; the management of the radio frequency spectrum to permit the development and growth of radio communications; and the development of telecommunications services for the Government of Canada. In the international field, the Department acts to protect and support Canadian interests in international telecommunications systems, services and undertakings. The Minister of Communications reports to Parliament for the Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation and the Canadian Radio-Television Commission.

Department of Consumer and Corporate Affairs. This Department was established in 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-27) replacing the Department of the Registrar General of Canada. The duties, powers and functions of the Minister extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction, not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: consumer affairs; corporations and corporate securities; combines, mergers, monopolies and restraint of trade; bankruptcies and insolvencies; and patents, copyrights and trade marks.

The functions of the Department are divided into five main areas. The Bureau of Consumer Affairs co-ordinates government activities in the field of consumer affairs; the Bureau of Corporate Affairs administers the government's corporate activities; the Bureau of Intellectual Property administers laws and regulations pertaining to patents, trade marks, industrial designs and copyrights; and the Bureau of Field Operations supervises the Department's operations across Canada, staffing regional offices in five Canadian cities from coast to coast and district offices in 22 others. Competition policy is regulated by the Director of Investigation and Research under the Combines Investigation Act.

In addition, as Registrar General of Canada, the Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs is the custodian of the Great Seal of Canada, the Privy Seal of the Governor General, the Seal of the Administrator of Canada and the Seal of the Registrar General of Canada.

The Restrictive Trade Practices Commission (Combines Investigation Act) is domiciled in the Department and reports directly to the Minister.

Department of Energy, Mines and Resources. The Department of Energy, Mines and Resources was created in 1966 by the Government Organization Act (RSC 1970, c.E-6). The Department, in addition to its administrative services, is organized into three groups: the Science and Technology Group includes the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Earth Physics Branch, the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing, and the Polar Continental Shelf Project, all of which are engaged in research and the provision of information in their respective fields; the Mineral Development Group includes the Quebec regional office, the Mineral Resources Branch, which gathers economic data on all minerals for use by government, industry and the public and conducts administrative functions of resource management, and the Explosives Division which controls, under the provisions of the Explosives relating to the development of plans and policies for all forms of energy, the development of programs, legislation and agreements to implement those policies, the direction of studies relating to energy sources a dviser on over-all plans and policies relating to energy sources and requirements.